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General
• If DR = doubles and no leader is directing, the shot

Cowers [A7.9]. Mark the firing unit and all of its SW
with Final Fire; no Firelane is laid [A9.22]

• Once an MMG/HMG First Fires from a
Woods/Rubble/Bldg, it may continue to First Fire
only within that Covered Arc [A9.21]

• {MG} or {Inherent FP} means that inclusion of this
firepower is optional.

Subsequent First Fire (SFF) [A8.3]
• Area Fire; only Small Arms/MG/IFE can be used
• Target must be within firer’s Normal Range and ≤ the range to the closest Known Enemy Unit.
• MG/IFE must be used or forfeited for the remainder of the Player Turn unless used in FPF

[EXC: MG’s whose restricted CA is outside of the SFF shot, A9.21].
• MG/IFE are subject to Sustained Fire penalties (half FP, B# lowered by 2, no ROF, SMC firing

MG is NA) [A9.3]
• SFF is NA if a Firelane has been laid in First Fire (barring TPBF, which cancels the Firelane

anyway {97 Q&A}, unless the TPBF situation is against a BU CT AFV, in which case the
Firelane does not have to be canceled {J1 Q&A}) 

• A unit gets ONE SFF attack, then it and its SW are marked with Final Fire, regardless of what
got used in First Fire (its IFP or its SW) and regardless of whether ROF was retained. This is
because a squad’s Inherent FP cannot be split from its MG/IFE in (separate) SFF attacks.

Final Protective Fire (FPF) [A8.31]
• Area Fire + PBF/TPBF
• MG/IFE must be used, with Sustained Fire [A9.3]

penalties and loss of ROF.
• Only allowed at range 0-1; mandatory at range 0 when

a TPBF situation occurs [A7.212, A8.312]. TPBF
situations cancel Firelanes automatically [A9.223]
unless vs a BU CT AFV, where FL cancellation is
optional {J1 Q&A}

• IFT DR also acts as an NMC DR vs  firing unit
• FPF is the only way for a unit/SW marked with Final

Fire to continue defensive firing in that player turn; a
unit marked with Final Fire cannot fire during the
DFPh. You can take any number of FPF shots, as
long as you continue to pass the FPF Morale Checks.

* - Here, the MG is using SFF
(and if included, the squad is
using First Fire) and so
technically the MG should be
marked with Final Fire and the
squad should be marked with
First Fire. However, since the
squad can’t SFF again (it has
already SFF’d once, with the
MG), it is under all of the
restrictions of Final Fire, so it
really should be marked with
Final Fire.

Final Fire (in the DFPh) [A8.4]
• Unit not marked with any Fire counter: can fire at

normal or long range with normal ROF rules [A8.41]

• Unit marked with First Fire: only Area Fire vs same or
adjacent hexes. MG’s use Sustained Fire [A8.41]
(half FP, B# lowered by 2, no ROF, SMC firing MG
is  NA [A9.3] ). Intensive Fire [C5.6] available for
(non-SW only) Guns.

• Unit marked with Final Fire: cannot Final Fire.
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